Why I am a fan of TIM TEBOW

This post is in response to Stacy Harp’s “Why I’m No Fan of TIM TEBOW” as posted on the Active Christian Media website. By the way, I think Stacy Harp is an awesome Christian sister. I just disagree with her on this topic, and I hope she’ll understand the Tebow phenomenon better through this post.

And before we get started, I’d for any reader of this post to know that I’m a Raider fan. I AM NO BRONCOS FAN.

First of all, it’s not about us as individuals. It’s about Jesus. I don’t want to go through the boatload of scriptures on the topic of giving glory to God, but I want it to be taken as a given that we all understand as Christians. And Tim Tebow is NOT an exception to this rule by ANY stretch of the imagination. Tebow is not super-talented quarterback. In fact, he’s always been criticized for not being an NFL-caliber quarterback. It is for this reason I believe he’s been chosen by Jesus to glorify our Heavenly Father. How so? 1 Corinthians 1: 27 says that, “God has chosen the foolish things of this world to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of this world to shame the things which are mighty.”

Secondly, only one passage stood out to me that I agree with: “Christianity is not about being a celebrity and it’s certainly not about idolizing a person who is bold in their faith.” It’s true. It’s about God – not about us. We’re dead to self. If Tim Tebow gives the credit and glory to God, he’s along the same train of thought as us. It’s not about idolizing Tim Tebow. It’s about agreeing with his boldness in faith. So, no, I don’t disagree with everything in the article.

So now, you have this fear, and it’s a fear of Tim Tebow’s failure and his propensity to “crash and burn” like the others. Remember Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego? King Nebuchadnezzar wanted them to be thrown into a furnace, and they said, “the God we serve … will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand. But even if does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the gold image you have set up.” We all are going to have our “but even if he does not” moments where we can’t be fearful of crashing and burning. God is still going to love us, ESPECIALLY if and when we crash and burn while we’re glorifying him. The Apostle John was beheaded. The Apostle Peter requested hung upside-down by King Nero for his execution to show humility and unworthiness in comparison to Jesus (this is where we get the peace sign) … and the list goes on.

And lastly, please realize that fear is of Satan – it’s probably his most powerful weapon. But … FEAR OF EVIL IS NOT A PRINCIPLE OF GOD – it’s all throughout the Book of Job. Elijah was probably the most powerful prophet of the entire Old Testament, and even he succumbed to fear of evil. One day he was out killing 450 of Jezebel’s Baal prophets, and the next day, he ran out into the desert because of fear. The Apostle Paul once talked about a thorn, and this thorn is often thought to be his blindness. He asked God a few times to take away this thorn, and he wrote, “But he said unto me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” It is obvious that this applies to Tim Tebow, as it should apply to any of us.

In essence, Tim Tebow needs to be respected as a Christian brother for his boldness. He’s not given the great throwing arm or the great team that the others have. But what he’s given is the gift of faith by he Holy Spirit. If I were in his shoes, I’d choose the latter.

About buszero

Small potato -- freshly baked. That's why I have a great tan.
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I am a fan of TIM TEBOW

  1. dangoor says:

    I cannot understand people who feel that G-d could be involved in football. Neither do I like, nor do I dislike Tim Tebow, I do respect the way he plays, and I do respect his right to thank his G-d when things go well, but! Being a good Christian has very little to do with football. In a world where there are many serious problems, why would G-d worry about football? Religion is, as it should be, an individual thing, no two people can believe in exactly the same way. One must not introduce G-d into comparative sports, or, when Aaron Rogers Plays Tim Tebow, it could be suggested that Jesus is playing against Jehovah. It’s OK for Tebow to thank God for his fortune, but such action should be simply between the individual and his private God.

Leave a Reply

